Wiltshire Council

Annual Council

16 May 2017

Leader's Motion

Item 11 - Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups

- a) Appointment of Committees and Review of Allocation of Seats on Committees to Political Groups
- b) Appointment of Councillors to Committees
- c) Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Committees

The Leader once elected will move the following:

The Council is asked:

- (a) To note this report and the legal requirements.
- (b) To re-appoint the following committees with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:-

Appeals Committee Area Planning Committees: Eastern, Northern, Southern and Western Audit Committee Children's Select Committee **Environment Select Committee** Health Select Committee Health and Wellbeing Board Licensing Committee **Officer** Appointments **Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee** Pension Fund Committee Police and Crime Panel Staffing Policy Committee Standards Committee Strategic Planning Committee

(c) To re-appoint those Area Boards, constituted as area committees as set out in paragraphs 13 to 15 and Appendix 1 of the report presented and within the Constitution, to comprise the Unitary Councillors for that area.

(d) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board established under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013 with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution.

(e)	To approve a scheme of committee places which sets out the number of seats
	available to members of the Council and to political groups as follows:

Committee	Total Number of Places for Elected Members	Conservative Group Allocation	Liberal Democrat Group Allocation	Labour Group Allocation	Independent Group Allocation
		(68 seats)	(20 seats)	(3 seats)	(7 seats)
Strategic Planning	11	8	2	0	1
Area Planning Committees					
North	11	8	3	0	0
South	11	7	1	1	2
East	8	7	0	0	1
West	11	7	3	0	1
Licensing	12	8	3	0	1
Overview and Scrutiny Management	15	10	3	1	1
Children's Select	13	9	3	0	1
Environment Select	13	8	3	1	1
Health Select	13	9	3	0	1
Standards	11	8	2	0	1
Police and Crime Panel	7	5	2	0	0
Audit	11	8	2	1	0
Appeals	8	5	2	0	1
Staffing Policy	9	6	2	1	0
Officer Appointments	5	4	1	0	0
Pension Fund	5	4	1	0	0
TOTALS:	174	121 (120.735)	36 (35.510)	5 (5.327)	12 (12.429)

- (f) To appoint councillors to serve on those committees in accordance with the agreed scheme of committee places, until the next occasion membership is reviewed under the provisions of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989 (as attached).
- (g) To appoint substitute members (to a maximum of four per group) to the committees referred to in (A) above (as attached).
- (h) To appoint those councillors representing electoral divisions to their respective area boards as set out in Appendix 1 of the report
- (i) To delegate to the Standards Committee the appointment of four non-voting co-opted members, and to delegate the arrangements for selection of such members to the Monitoring Officer in consultation with the Chairman of the Standards Committee
- (j) To appoint the following persons as Independent Persons each for a four year term:

Mr Tony Drew

Mrs Caroline Baynes

Mr Stuart Middleton (please note change from papers circulated)

and to thank Mr Colin Malcolm for his excellent service to the Council for the past 5 years as an Independent Person and to Mr Tony Drew and Mrs Caroline Baynes for their continued excellent service.

(k) To reappoint the following non-elected members to the Children's Select Committee:-

Non-Elected Voting Members	Representing
Vacancy	Church of England
Dr Mike Thompson	Clifton Diocese Roman Catholic Church
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary- maintained)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Secondary – academy)
Vacancy	Parent Governor (Special Educational Needs)
Ms Jill Hughes	Parent Governor (Primary)
Non-Elected Non-Voting Members	Representing
James Wilkins	School, Children and Young People representatives
Ms Cathy Shahrokni (Substitute Ms Jen Jones)	Further Education Representative
Miss Sarah Busby	Secondary Schools Head teacher Representative
Miss Tracy Cornelius	Primary School Head teacher Representative
Mr John Hawkins	School Teacher Representative

(I) To re-appoint the following co-opted members to the Wiltshire Pension Fund Committee:

Name	Representing
currently Cllr Steve Weisinger.	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
currently Cllr Steve Allsopp.	Swindon Borough Councillor (as determined by Swindon Borough Council)
Diane Hall	Employer Representative
Linda Stuart	Employer Representative
currently Stuart Dark	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison
currently Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Observer- appointed by Unison

(m) To re-appoint the Local Pension Board under the Public Service Pensions Act 2013 and consequent amendments to the Local Government Pension Scheme Regulations 2013 with the terms of reference as set out in the Constitution:

Name	Representing
Howard Pearce	Independent Chairman
David Bowater	Scheme Member Representative
Barry Reed	Scheme Member Representative
Mike Pankiewicz	Scheme Member Representative
Sarah Holbrook	Employer Member Representative
Lynda Croft	Employer Member Representative
*Vacancy	Employer Member Representative

*and to appoint Councillor Richard Britton to the vacant position of Employer Member Representative

(n) To appoint Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the following meetings:

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Area Planning	Mark Connolly	Paul Oatway
Committee – Eastern		
Area Planning	Tony Trotman	Peter Hutton
Committee – Northern		
Area Planning	Fred Westmoreland	Richard Britton
Committee – Southern		
Area Planning	Christopher Newbury	Jonathon Seed
Committee – Western		
Audit Committee	Richard Britton	Stewart Dobson
Health and Wellbeing	Baroness Scott of Bybrook	
Board (Chairman only)	OBE	
Licensing Committee	Peter Hutton	Josie Green

Committee	Chairman	Vice-Chairman
Officer Appointments	Baroness Scott of Bybrook OBE	John Thomson
Pension Fund Committee	Tony Deane	Roy While
Staffing Policy Committee	Allison Bucknell	Tony Jackson
Standards Committee	Paul Oatway	Howard Greenman
Strategic Planning Committee	Fleur de-Rhé-Philipe	Derek Brown

- (o) To note that the Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, the Select Committees, and the Police and Crime Panel will be asked to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen at their first meeting following the annual meeting of council. Area Boards have each been convened to meet on the rising of this Council meeting to elect their respective Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen.
- (p) To note that the Appeals Committee does not meet as a formal committee. However, three members who have undergone appropriate training are drawn from its membership to form Appeal Panels to consider and determine various types of appeals. No appointment of chairman or vice-chairman to the committee is therefore necessary. Each panel when convened will elect its own chairman.
- (q) That Council appoint the following 10 members to serve as Council representatives on the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority:

Conservatives (7) Liberal Democrat (2) Independent (1)

Bob Jones

Brian Dalton

Peter Hutton Pip Ridout Andrew Davis Paul Oatway Christopher Newbury Robert Yuill Matthew Dean Ernie Clark